Update an old picture frame: paint and tape edition

ART, Decoration, DIY, inspiration, Life, Love

This weekend presented itself with grey skies and abysmal conditions. My boyfriend and I, wanting to do something fun but ye of little money, decided to get creative. I always have paint on hand and random unfinished paintings, clothes with stains to be covered with embroidery, and mason jars waiting to be dazzled.

He decided to paint a mason jar in a very cool Van Gogh-esque way that I loved, and I decided to update an old picture frame. This frame has been sitting on my bedside table since I moved into my apartment, and although I love the picture of us in Nice, France, I have felt that the frame doesn’t fit in with the decor in the room.

I toyed with ideas of how I could creatively use materials I already have to make this frame more funky than drab, and for whatever reason I decided to start with tape. So, I put down tape in a diagonal pattern, squirted blue and white paint onto my pallet. I applied a bit of each color to my brush and painted freely where the tape was not. Once I lifted the tape, this zig-zag pattern allowed for perfect lines and resulted in a really cool pop of color.

Re-doing this frame was free, fun and relaxing. It’s a good feeling to have something new but have spent no money on it. We’ll also always have the memory of not allowing a rainy saturday to go to waste.

Leave a Reply

