Fun with spray paint and spare bottles

ART, Decoration, DIY

IMG_1410I recently realized how many spare mason jars and unique glass bottles I have saved up over time. I decided that instead of tossing them in the recycling bin that I would instead up-cyle them into something cool. I grabbed a can of yellow spray paint (a color neutral enough to go with anything but with a sunny disposition) and decided to give it a try. To create a variation amongst the yellow bottles, I put painter’s tape around one of the mason jars and sprayed. Once it was dry and I peeled the tape off, it left a nice clear accent! My dad joined me with a can of metallic silver paint and a bottle and it came out really neat, especially with the mixed elements of the metallic look and the wooden top.

The process is super easy, and very inexpensive! Here are the steps:

1. Grab any class container you have lying around

2. Pick out a can of spray paint in any color you like

3. Set up a drop cloth and work in an open air space

4. Shake up the can for 1 minute

5. Hold the can about 8 inches away from the object, and starting at the top, press the button on the can in a linear motion. Tip: Instead of holding the button down consistently whilst spraying, only hold it down during each individual linear spray.

6. Do 1 or 2 coats and let dry

7. Enjoy your new artwork however you’d like!

Idea: I recently organized my book shelf by grouping books of similar color families together, and I am hoping to spray paint more bottles in these colors as book ends. Sticking flowers or tall candles in some will tie them together and give it a wholesome feel. 

Leave a Reply

